cover

Perfect Imperfections by Taryn Leigh

Synopsis:

Sarah Lewis desires nothing more than to begin again after a failed marriage and a tragedy so terrifying, it forces her to leave her life in London to stay with her best friend a world apart in South Africa.
Despite immediate success in her business, she struggles to understand who she really is and where she belongs in the world. So begins a journey of discovery as Sarah re-unites with Katy in the land where she was born, where the air is lavender scented, and weekends are spent cycling on the beach.
Until the day when she has to return to London to face the ghosts of her past and confront a situation that has grown more complicated in her absence.
Perfect Imperfections is an intriguing tale which hints at wrongdoings and deceit without giving too much away. The author cleverly weaves a tale around fragile yet strong Sarah as she tries to reconcile her past with her future, engaging the reader to the point where we simply want the best for her and for happiness finally to come her way.

Q&A:

Q) For the readers, can you talk us through your background and the synopsis of your new novel?

A) ABOUT ME:

My love for books started in school with all my lunch breaks being spent curled up in the school library.

Having read books by so many other authors, I always dreamt of writing my own novel. I started off blogging, as a way of expressing myself creatively through words. One night while falling asleep, the plot to Perfect Imperfections came to me, and I immediately fell in love with it, and wrote out the plot. Over the span of a year I began writing the book.

ABOUT THE BOOK:

Perfect Imperfections is about Sarah’s struggle to rebuild her life after a failed marriage, and a terrifying tragedy that forces her to leave the life she loved in London, and to move back to her birthplace South Africa. The book takes you on a travel adventure through Sarah’s eyes, as she re-discovers South Africa, and re-unites with her best friend Katy.

We watch as Sarah slowly rebuilds her life, her career, and her heart. We meet some amazing, comical, and exciting characters along the way, who help to shape Sarah into the new version of herself she is becoming.

However, life doesn’t allow Sarah to run away forever from her secret, and soon she is forced to return to London and face the ghosts of her past or risk losing everything.

Read the actual synopsis here : https://olympiapublishers.com/books/perfect-imperfections

Q) Can you talk us through the journey from idea to writing to publication?

A) I was fortunate that I had a strong plot from the beginning, and the characters became so real to me that they practically wrote themselves into the pages.

I initially started writing for myself. I had no audience in mind, no publishers, and no critics. I actually didn’t write to publish, I just wrote to express myself. My husband (who was my inspiration for Edwards character), read my book and completely fell in love with the story. He encouraged me to send it out to various publishers.

Trying to get published was a longer process than writing the book. It took me two years of sending the book out before two publishers came back asking to publish the book.

I must say the process is difficult, as it’s a long waiting game, but when you get positive feedback from the publishers, it completely encourages you to keep going.

Q) What are your favourite authors and recommended reads?

A) My favourite author by far is Karen Swan, and ‘Christmas at Tiffany’s’ and ‘The Perfect Present’ are my favourite books. My other favourite author from a completely different writing style is Sydney Sheldon.

Q) What were your childhood/teenage favourite reads?

A) I loved Enid Blyton. Anything she wrote that I could get my hands on I did. Malory Towers and The Faraway Tree were my favourite reads of hers

Q) What has been your favourite moment of being a published author?

A) Every time someone sends me a picture or message of them reading my book. Each time I feel as if I have just received a present. My heart leaps to know people are sharing in my love for the story and characters that feel so real to me.

Q) Who has been your source of support/encouragement, throughout the writing process?

A) My husband really has been an amazing encouragement. I probably never would have shared the story if it had not been for his belief in me.

Authors Links:
Facebook: @tarynleighbooks
Twitter: @tarynleighbook
Instagram: @tarynleighbooks

*Thank you for taking part in the Q&A on my blog, I wish you every success with your writing career.

Leave a Reply

