Blog Tour: Watch You Burn by KA Richardson – Review

BLOG TOUR (1)

Watch You Burn by KA Richardson

Synopsis:

Someone is breaking into Fire Investigator, Edina Blaze’s, home and leaving deadly messages. When Glen Peacock is burned alive, she has to put her own problems aside and attend the location with Crime Scene Manager, Kevin Lang.

As the body count rises, Edina’s sister Heather becomes involved. Is it her setting these gruesome fires? Or is she a target too?

Kevin has seen it all in his years on the force, but when a young girl is found burnt to death, even he is shocked.

Who is taking pleasure in watching people burn? Why are they doing it? And will they be caught?

DI Alistair McKay and the team from North East Police have to work quickly to stop the killer, before they all end up in flames.

My review:

Originally when I saw the synopsis for this, I made the amateur/rookie mistake of thinking ‘oh this is a novel focused on an arson case’. It is so much more than that! A multi-layered story focusing on all the characters within the novel.

The novel is set in Darlington. I almost felt it was two unique stories, which merge together to form this impressive crime novel. The arson crime plot that involves Edina Blaze, member of the local Fire investigation team (FIT). DS Dan Slater and crime scene manager Kevin Lang. but the novel, also revolves around the goings-on between a bunch of University students in their 20’s. I feel the student side to the story would make this novel appeal to the YA genre also and I would allow my daughter to read it.

All of the characters have exceptional depth in their back stories. I feel this really added to the writing. You loved some and hated others! Janelle Spence, student and vicious bully, was one character, I took an instant dislike to. But again, you love to hate her, which is when I know the writer has really gotten in my head.

The plot unravels at an epic pace. But aside from being a brilliant crime story. This novel touches on themes of adult bullying, stalking, revenge, casual drug use, alcoholism and the sheer desperation that leads to suicide attempts.
A gripping 4* read!